Skip to main navigation.

Miller, Brookshaw, Swenson re-elected to electric co-op board














Polk-Burnett Electric Cooperative announced the results of its 2018 board election at the co-op’s 80th annual meeting June 8. Three incumbent directors ran unopposed and were re-elected in districts 7, 8 and 9.

Voter participation was 15.8%, with 1,004 (897 paper, 107 web) ballots received. Members voted by mail and online.

In co-op District 7, Maury Miller of Danbury was re-elected with 337 votes. There were nine write-in votes. District 7 includes Webb Lake, Scott, Jackson, Chicog, Casey and Rusk townships. 

In co-op District 8, Chuck Brookshaw of Webster was re-elected with 305 votes. There were eight write-in votes. District 8 includes Swiss, Oakland, Union, Meenon and Sand Lake townships. 

In co-op District 9, Tom Swenson of Webster was re-elected with 314 votes. There were seven write-in votes.  District 9 includes Marshland, Lincoln, Grantsburg, Wood River, Daniels, Siren, Anderson and Trade Lake townships.

Miller, Brookshaw and Swenson will serve three-year terms on the co-op board, beginning with the June 25 regular board meeting. Directors meet monthly to make policy and budget decisions. They are elected by members and each represents a district in the co-op’s service territory. Overall, nine co-op directors serve on the Polk-Burnett Electric Cooperative board.

Other Polk-Burnett board directors are:  Cindy Thorman, Osceola, District 1; Mike Morris, Luck; District 2; Ed Gullickson, Amery, District 3; Joe Metro, Balsam Lake, District 4; Jeff Traynor, Balsam Lake, District 5 and Wilfred Owens, Frederic, District 6.

Polk-Burnett is a not-for-profit, member-owned cooperative that provides reliable electricity with efficiency and extraordinary service to 20,000+ homes, farms and businesses across 2,000 square miles. 


L-R Above: General Manager Steve Stroshane, re-elected Board Director Tom Swenson, Solar Sam, Board President Ed Gullickson and re-elected Board Director Chuck Brookshaw. Not pictured: re-elected Board Director Maury Miller.


Touchstone Energy Cooperatives National Logo Kids Energy Zone Logo Diggers Hotline Logo